Animal Friendly

Are Dogs Vegan? Part 1

Hey Zen Family! Been a while…huh? Maybe I can give you the cliff-notes version of where I’ve been.

One of my many goals this year was to focus on my health. I scheduled every visit necessary. I have been poked and prodded.

And poked some more.

In a nutshell, my cholesterol is a little high.

Maybe higher than a little.

High enough that I have six months to get it within normal range. If not, drug therapy will be necessary.

I ain’t having that.

Soooo……….on a quest to focus on natural (diet) therapies, I happened across some plant-based and vegan resources. I’ve cut out processed, fried, dairy, eggs and animal products and have been feeling wonderful.

I won’t say I am vegan. I’ll just say that my lifestyle is changing. For the better.

Side note, if you are looking for an informative nutrition book, How Not To Die, by Dr. Michael Greger is a must read.

But I digress.

I have been educating myself on eating healthy. And before I realized, I was also educating myself on the inhumane treatment of animals for food and products.

This is where it gets interesting.

While I am a HUGE dog lover, I am really an animal lover. It doesn’t stop at dogs. I love birds, fish, pigs, cows and other creatures put here on earth. (except spiders. I really don’t like spiders. But I don’t wish harm to them. I just wish they would stay away from me, my home and anything within a 100 mile radius)

So the dilemma began. How do I start to eliminate products tested on animals and void of animal ingredients? In this day and age, it’s not that hard. There are tons of products that are animal friendly.

So a couple months into this journey, I patted myself on they back. Good little vegan-ish dog mom.

Broccoli.jpg
Photo Credit: Property of The Zen Paws

 

Vegan Dog Mom? Wait a second.

Hmm…..dogs eat meat. That doesn’t quite make me a vegan. Purchasing meat is contributing to the problem?

**Sigh**

Can I really stop buying meat and serving up veggies, grains and fruits for chow time?

It depends on who you ask.

But this is really where the dilemma and controversies begin.

Stay tuned for part 2.

Does your canine companion currently eat any veggies with their meals? Is your dog vegan?