Uncategorized

What’s On My Bookshelf- Healthy Dog Edition

 

Spring should be here any minute.

While I am waiting for that day to arrive, I have been burying myself in books to pass the time.  Specifically, dog related books.

I thought I’d share what is currently sitting on my shelf. Some I have read, some have been sitting there waiting patiently ….. for a while.

If  you are a book lover, you understand the growing list of books- you must buy- to put on your shelf -that you will never finish reading.

Whew!

books

The Healing Touch for Dogs, Dr. Michael W. Fox

I once paid $20 for a 15 minute canine massage. I wasn’t sure what I was really expecting. A fluffy dog bed, spa music and treats to be fed while my furry love lays relaxing in blissful heaven.

It didn’t go down like that.

I am a firm believer in the therapeutic benefits of canine massage, so I picked this book for my shelf. Dr. Fox is a Veterinarian and former VP of the Humane Society. In this book he reviews 6 techniques so you can bond with Fido while administering massage techniques for health benefits.

I’ve skimmed this book, but have not read cover-to-cover.

I do that a lot.

Highly recommend if you want understand canine anatomy and massage technique.

Raw & Natural Nutrition for Dogs, Lew Olson, PhD

This is my second favorite book on dog nutrition.

If dog nutrition is a concern for you, this is a great place to start. Not only does he break down nutrition basics, but reviews specific nutrients and how to add them to your dogs diet.

This is a great starter book if all the current news, blogs and article son dog nutrition overwhelm you.

Dr. Pitcairn’s Complete Guide to Natural Health for Dogs and Cats, Dr. Richard H. Pitcairn & Susan Hubble Pitcairn

This is the book that changed my life.

Well, technically  my dogs life.

A few years ago, Skippie started to exhibit some health issues. I immediately starting looking at his diet, which none of my vets even suggested.

This book helped me understand what and how to change his diet.

A must read if you want to have a healthy dog or cat, regardless of what type of diet you feed.

What I learned from the Dog, Chicken Soup for the Soul

I’ve never jumped on the Chicken Soup for the Soul train, until I saw this book.

Filled with heartwarming and short stories, this makes like a devotional. Some stories make me laugh, some make me cry.

And some I just keep reading over again.

Kindred Spirits: How The Remarkable Bond Between Human and Animal Can Change THe Way We live; Allen M. Schoen, D.V.M

This is in my To Be Read pile.

This book teaches us about the benefits of the human-animal bond and how we can give back to our animals.

This will make my Summer 2016 summer read list.

Do you have a dog-friendly book recommendation or book you would like a more detailed review on? Tell us about it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

